Leave a comment

Soft, Healthy Hair

Ok for starters, I LOVE HAIR! I just love doing hair and doing cool hairstyles. I do hair on both of my daughters every day. I get most of my ideas from this channel (www.youtube.com/cutegirlshairstyles) along with some hairstyles that I come up with on my own.

I know this may sound crazy, but twice a month I rinse my hair with beer in the shower. I follow by rinsing with water then a Apple Cider Viniger Rinse and once more with water and after…..My hair feels like silk!

So the days that I just want to leave my hair down, I like to do something like this.

How to Fake Natural Curl

I do this by putting together:

2 Cups Hot water, 1 TSP Salt, 1 TSP Coconut Oil, 1 TSP Hair gel or conditiner

Spray on wet hair. Twist sections of hair (2 to 10) and let air dry.

Pinned Image

 

 

I also use a Homemade Coconut Shampoo. Here is the recipe:

 

1/4 cup coconut milk (you can either make your own, or use store-bought)
1/3 cup liquid castile soap (like Dr. Bronner’s)
1 tsp vitamin E, olive or almond oil
10 to 20 drops your choice of essential oils (I used lavender. Next time I think I’ll do something citrusy just for fun. 🙂

Combine all ingredients in a shampoo bottle or jar and shake well to mix. (I bought the squeeze bottles above at the dollar store.)
You can keep it in the shower for up to one month…just shake before use.
Use about a teaspoon every time you shampoo. (I used a little more, but my hair is pretty long right now!)

 

 

 

Here are some tips for soft, healthy hair.

1. Trim your ends often!

If you keep the split and dead ends off, Your hair will grow faster and will look lots more healthy!

2. Wash Your hair every OTHER day.

Even though you take a shower every day, only wash your hair every OTHER day. Unless you have super greasy hair, it is not healthy to wash your hair everyday. You can also use a dry shampoo in between the ‘washing’ days.

3. Try to refrain from using Hot products (Curling Irons, Straightners etc.)

If you want to curl, straighten your hair, try doing it with no heat. You can sock curl it (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CzJKdHglFck&feature=plcp), Headband curl it (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Rdfgu3zqY4&feature=relmfu)  and many more. There are even no-heat products out there that will help.

4. Try to stay away from products like Hairspray.

Yes, hairspray is not good for your hair. So alot of people turn over to bobby-pins to help hold in hairstyles, but they will split your hair. So if you would end up using ALOT of bobby-pins, its prob better to use hairspray.

5. Try to not dye your hair ALL THE TIME.

Do I need to say more?

 

 

So for your kids, I would suggest using Suave kids shampoos. They work like magic! I really like the 2 in 1 Shampoo and condiniter with Smoothers,

 

Also, after I take a shower, I like putting in Moroccanoil Oil. It is a oil for your hair that makes it soft and healthy yet does not show up greasy and gross!

 

Here is a before and after (This is not me)

 

 

So there you go!

What are your tips and tricks for your hair? What do you use? Comment!

 

 

Leave a Reply

